The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

Supervisors’ Certification

Leadership Training for VACo Members

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program was created to provide VACo members with an opportunity to learn how to lead their communities more effectively.

The program provides training to enhance the leadership and decision-making skills of county supervisors in the Commonwealth.

Get Certified!

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program provides an overview of the issues, expectations, and practices associated with serving as a county supervisor as well as detailed information about local government.

The program consists of three core courses – budgeting; planning, land use and infrastructure; and leadership. 

For more information about the County Supervisor Certification Program, contact Karie Walker at or 804.343.2504.


January 25 – March 22

COST – $450

The VACo Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program is ready for launch, and we can’t wait to share the experience with you. The 3-course program now spans one year, so sign up now to be in the inaugural class – The Class of 2023!

Open to all county supervisors and staff, this exciting course comprises an opening class session, virtual cohort meetings, and a closing class session. As one of the three courses within VACo’s Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program, this course tackles the tough topic of county budgeting led by Class Manager Suzette Denslow. Don’t miss this opportunity to build relationships with your fellow supervisors, learn from some of Virginia’s most experienced local officials, and engage through meaningful discussions and learning materials.

Class size limited to 17 attendees.

Contact Karie Walker at with questions or for more information.


Jeremy R. Bennett | Virginia Association of Counties | PHOTO

Mary W. Biggs | Montgomery County | PHOTO

Hubert W. Pannell | Halifax County | PHOTO

Robert F. Babyok, Jr., Louisa County; 

Floyd M. Brown, Jr., Prince George County;

James P. Crozier, Orange County;

Amy H. DuBois, Mathews County;

 Garland H. Hamlett, Jr., Charlotte County; 

Kay M. Pierantoni, Charlotte County;

Cindy C. Shelton, Stafford County; 

Marlene J. Waymack, Prince George County; 

Dr. Robert S. Westbrook, Lancaster County

Norman G. Dill, Albemarle County; 

Kenneth Adam Kidd, Bland County;

Robert McCraw, Carroll County;

Christopher McDonald, Virginia Association of Counties
Thomas H.Sayre, Warren County
Jerry R.Townsend, Prince Edward County

Joel C. Acree, Isle of Wight County; Jessie L. Barksdale, Pittsylvania County; Keith C. Blowe, Sussex County; Claudia Hubbard Lundy, Mecklenburg County; Bill Martin, Greene County; Allison B. Mays, Washington County; William M. McCarty, Sr., Isle of Wight County; Larry Nordvig, Powhatan County; Odessa H. Pride, Ed.D, Prince Edward County; Richard F. Randolph, Albemarle County

Rick Blevins, Smyth County; Meg Bohmke, Stafford County; James M. Griffith, Alleghany County; Dean A. Lynch, Virginia Association of Counties; Laura Sellers, Stafford County; Steve Wilkerson, Bedford County

Pattie Cooper-Jones, Prince Edward County; Jane D. Dittmar, Albemarle County; Stephanie L. Koren, Louisa County; Jack White, Mathews County

Jason Daniel Bellows, Lancaster County; Alexa Fritz, Culpeper County; Roger T. Hayden, Patrick County; H.A. “Andy” McCready, Pulaski County; Charles A. Stacy, Tazewell County

John Cataldo, Brunswick County; Claire Anne Collins, Bath County; William F. “Bill” Gandel, Prince George County; Don C. Gantt, Jr., Prince Edward County; John Haynes, Richmond County; Dana G. Kilgore, Wise County; Phil D. McCraw, Carroll County; Phillip “Bart” Perdue, Bath County; Cassandra L. Stish, Buckingham County; Robert “Bob” Thomas, Jr., Stafford County; Kevin Wagner, Highland County; John R. Woodward, Page County

Joseph C. Straten, Washington County

Larry K. Bartlett, Grayson County; David W. Blanchard, Highland County; Brenda Sutherland, Grayson County

Stephen W. Bowen, Nottoway County; J.D. Cave, Page County; Donald W. Kidd, Amherst County; Dr. Thomas Littrell, Carroll County; Ernie McLeod, Louisa County

Deborah B. Coats, Hanover County; Robert H. Conner, Brunswick County; Willie L. Gentry, Jr., Louisa County; Bernard L. Jones, Sr., Brunswick County; Ann H. Mallek, Albemarle County; Carl Schmitt, Greene County

Sharon Baroncelli, Shenandoah County; Kate Berger, Pittsylvania County; Tony Carter, Warren County; David Hutchins, Carroll County; Paul Milde, Stafford County

John Rust, Page County; William Quarles, Jr., Goochland County; Charles Allbaugh, Fluvanna County

Wayne A. Acors, Caroline County; Charles C. Ballard, Page County; Phillip A. Bradshaw, Isle of Wight County; Gerald M. Cubbage, Page County; Carol Lee Fischer-Strickler, Page County; Thomas W. Fore, Amherst County; R. Kenneth Hatcher, Powhatan County; Judy S. Lyttle, Surry County; Ronnie L. Shortt, Wise County; Thomas J. Wright, III, Isle of Wight County