Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

Board of Directors

VACo Advocates on Behalf of Virginia's Counties

VACo’s Board of Directors consists of a six-member Executive Committee, which includes the President, the President-Elect, the First Vice-President, the Second Vice-President, the Secretary-Treasurer, and the Immediate Past-President. In addition, the board includes the three next most recent Virginia Association of Counties past-presidents who currently hold office as elected Virginia county supervisors and regional directors elected from compact and contiguous regions of the State. Regional Directors are elected by the member counties within the region.

The Nominating Committee presents a slate of officers to the general membership for election at VACo’s annual meeting each November. In addition, the Board of Directors designates at least one member of the Board to represent the Association on the Board of Directors of the National Association of Counties.

The VACo Executive Committee for 2023-2024

2023 Ann Mallek

Ann H. Mallek


Albemarle County

Ruth Larson


James City County


William M. McCarty

First Vice President

Isle of Wight County


Victor S. Angry

Second Vice President

Prince William County

Donald L. Hart, Jr.


Accomack County


Jason D. Bellows

Immediate Past President

Lancaster County

VACo’s 2023-2024 Regional Directors

REGION 1 – Joel Acree | Isle of Wight County

REGION 2 – Sidney N. Johnson | Essex County

REGION 3 – Sean M. Davis | Hanover County

REGION 3 – Mark S. Miller, Ph.D | Chesterfield County

REGION 3 – Daniel J. Schmitt | Henrico County

REGION 4 – Daniel D. Lee | Dinwiddie County

REGION 5 – John M. (Mike) Sheridan | Fluvanna County

REGION 6 – Terri T. Catlett | Clarke County

REGION 7 – Cathy Binder | King George County

REGION 7 – Jeffrey S. Black | Caroline County

REGION 7 – Lori Hayes | Spotsylvania County

REGION 8 – Andrea O. Bailey | Prince William County

REGION 8 – Juli Briskman | Loudoun County

REGION 8 – Matt de Ferranti | Arlington County

REGION 8 – Margaret Angela Franklin | Prince William County

REGION 8 – Dalia A. Palchik | Fairfax County

REGION 8 – Phyllis J. Randall | Loudoun County

REGION 8 – Kathy L. Smith | Fairfax County

REGION 8 – Daniel G. Storck | Fairfax County

REGION 8 – James R. Walkinshaw | Fairfax County

REGION 9 – James M. GriffithAlleghany County

REGION 10 – Jerry W. Boothe | Floyd County

REGION 10 – Linda DeVito Kuchenbuch | Floyd County

REGION 11 – April DeMotts | Montgomery County

REGION 11 – Phil North | Roanoke County

REGION 12 – Laura W. Walters | Pulaski County

REGION 13 – John T. Schoolcraft | Wise County

PAST PRESIDENT – Jeffrey C. McKay | Fairfax County

PAST PRESIDENT – Meg Bohmke | Stafford County

NACo DELEGATE – Jason D. Bellows | Lancaster County