PRESS RELEASE



VACo Recognizes Graduates of the Virginia Certified County Supervisors' Program



RICHMOND (November 16, 2016)—The Virginia Association of Counties (VACo) and the Virginia Cooperative Extension recognized the 11th class of the Virginia Certified County Supervisors' Program on November 15 during VACo's 82nd Annual Conference in Bath County.

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors' Program is a partnership between the Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech and VACo to provide training to enhance the leadership and decision-making skills of county supervisors in the Commonwealth.

The six graduates of the 18-month certification program are:

- Rick Blevins | Smyth County
- Meg Bohmke | Stafford County
- James M. Griffith | Alleghany County
- Dean A. Lynch | Virginia Association of Counties
- Laura Sellers | Stafford County
- Steve Wilkerson | Bedford County

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors' Program was created to provide VACo members more in-depth knowledge about government and governing.

"Congratulations to our newest graduates on completing one of VACo's premier educational programs," said Dean Lynch, VACo Executive Director. "We now have more than 60 graduates from more than 40 counties since the program's first class in 2006. I am proud to join the ranks of other graduates, and can attest that this is a master's degree level program."

Virginia Cooperative Extension partners with Virginia Tech and VACo to develop and deliver the program. "This program is a great example of Virginia Cooperative Extension growing its partnership with an organization to strengthen the impact of our community viability efforts and to collaborate with other agencies to provide leadership education," said Dr. Michael Chandler, Professor Emeritus at Virginia Tech and one the program's instructor along with Dr. Martha Walker, Extension Viability Specialist.

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors' Program provides an overview of the issues, expectations, and practices associated with serving as a county supervisor as well as detailed information about local government. Each participant completes five core courses featuring both classroom instruction and self-directed learning on leadership development, duties and responsibilities of public officials, community planning, local government finance, and collaborative governance.

For more information about the County Supervisor Certification Program, contact <u>Dean Lynch</u>, Executive Director, at <u>dlynch@vaco.org</u> or 804.343.2511.

Supervisor Certification Past Graduates

<u>2015</u>

Pattie Cooper-Jones, Prince Edward County; Jane D. Dittmar, Albemarle County; Stephanie L. Koren, Louisa County; Jack White, Mathews County

<u>2014</u>

Jason Daniel Bellows, Lancaster County; Alexa Fritz, Culpeper County; Roger T. Hayden, Patrick County; H.A. "Andy" McCready, Pulaski County; Charles A. Stacy, Tazewell County

<u>2013</u>

John Cataldo, Brunswick County; Claire Anne Collins, Bath County; William F. "Bill" Gandel, Prince George County; Don C. Gantt, Jr., Prince Edward County; John Haynes, Richmond County; Dana G. Kilgore, Wise County; Phil D. McCraw, Carroll County; Phillip "Bart" Perdue, Bath County; Cassandra L. Stish, Buckingham County; Robert "Bob" Thomas, Jr., Stafford County; Kevin Wagner, Highland County; John R. Woodward, Page County

<u>2012</u>

Joseph C. Straten, Washington County

<u>2011</u>

Larry K. Bartlett, Grayson County; David W. Blanchard, Highland County; Brenda Sutherland, Grayson County

<u>2010</u>

Stephen W. Bowen, Nottoway County; J.D. Cave, Page County; Donald W. Kidd, Amherst County; Dr. Thomas Littrell, Carroll County; Ernie McLeod, Louisa County

<u>2009</u>

Deborah B. Coats, Hanover County; Robert H. Conner, Brunswick County; Willie L. Gentry, Jr., Louisa County; Bernard L. Jones, Sr., Brunswick County; Ann H. Mallek, Albemarle County; Carl Schmitt, Greene County

<u>2008</u>

Sharon Baroncelli, Shenandoah County; Kate Berger, Pittsylvania County; Tony Carter, Warren County; David Hutchins, Carroll County; Paul Milde, Stafford County

2007

John Rust, Page County; William Quarles, Jr., Goochland County; Charles Allbaugh, Fluvanna County

<u>2006</u>

Wayne A. Acors, Caroline County; Charles C. Ballard, Page County; Phillip A. Bradshaw, Isle of Wight County; Gerald M. Cubbage, Page County; Carol Lee Fischer-Strickler, Page County; Thomas W. Fore, Amherst County; R. Kenneth Hatcher, Powhatan County; Judy S. Lyttle, Surry County; Ronnie L. Shortt, Wise County; Thomas J. Wright, III, Isle of Wight County

VACo exists to support county officials and to effectively represent, promote and protect the interests of counties to better serve the people of Virginia.

###

For more information Gage Harter 804.343.2502 gharter@vaco.org Virginia Association of Counties 1207 East Main Street Richmond, Va. 23219 www.vaco.org