Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

FY 2020 Marcia Mashaw Outstanding Assistant Award Nominations – deadline January 24!

Nominations are open for the FY 2020 Marcia Mashaw Outstanding Assistant Award.  The award process was postponed last spring; but an award to cover FY 2020 will be presented during Virginia Local Government Management Association’s (VLGMA) winter conference to be held February 10-12, 2021. VLGMA will proceed with the regularly-scheduled FY 2021 award process in the spring with that presentation to be given at the 2021 annual conference in June.

Each year VLGMA presents this award to a deputy or assistant manager or administrator who has demonstrated outstanding performance, particularly with a special project or during a period of unique conditions and circumstances.  FY2020 was a year of unique conditions and circumstances so we expect that many members will submit nominations!

This award honors the memory of Marcia Mashaw, who served as assistant town manager of Blacksburg and was very active in VLGMA leadership and activities.  VLGMA created this award to honor her and her many accomplishments in local government and as a VLGMA member.

Goochland County Deputy County Administrator Derek Stamey was the 2019 recipient of this award. Stamey is serving as chair of the Mashaw Award Committee this year.  Serving with Stamey are Prince George County Deputy County Administrator Jeff Stoke and Roanoke County Assistant County Administrator Richard Caywood.

Nominations for the FY 2020 period are open until midnight, Sunday, January 24, 2021.  The award will be presented at the VLGMA Winter Conference, February 10-12 (virtual format).

Please remember that nominees must be VLGMA members. If you are not sure, please email Janet Areson to verify!

A nominations form is attached for your use. To nominate a candidate, please e-mail this form detailing the nominee’s accomplishments and contributions in the workplace to:

Janet Areson | VLGMA Executive Secretary |

Please email Janet Areson if you have any questions about the award or nominations process.


Share This
Recent Posts