Work group holds first meeting on stormwater

August 2, 2017

On July 11 a newly formed 23 member Work Group authorized under HB 1774 (Hodges) met for the first time. The Work Group’s purpose is to develop a series of recommendations that will be submitted to the 2018 General Assembly on how to make management of stormwater workable for all localities and the state. Within the past three years there have been at least two work groups convened for that very purpose.

Discussions at the July 11 meeting included a large number of diverse ideas that will continue to be discussed by the Group as it continues its work through the fall. Consistent with HB 1774’s provisions, the Group meetings are being facilitated by the Virginia Coastal Policy Center at the William and Mary Law School.
Work Group members representing local government are Thomas Swarzwelder who is both Administrator and Attorney for King and Queen County, and David Nunnally, who directs Caroline County’s Erosion and Sediment Control program. Other Work Group members with local government affiliations are Lewie Lawrence, Director of the Middle Peninsula Planning District; Eldon James with the Rappahannock River Basin Commission; and Chris Pomeroy, Counsel to the Virginia Association of Municipal Stormwater Agencies (VAMSA.) Other work group members represent environmental organizations, academia, the development industry and other diverse interests.

The Work Group will try to agree on its recommendations by October 31. The following is a schedule of full Work Group meetings. The locations have not yet been determined.

August 30    9am – 4:30pm | September 27   9am – 4:30pm
October 18   9am – 4:30pm | November 29   9am – 4:30pm

VACo Contact: Larry Land, CAE

Topic Tags: Stormwater

- Related Blog Posts -

DEQ releases its Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for Consolidation of stormwater management programs

February 20, 2019

View Blog Post

Governor signs stormwater bill

April 2, 2014

View Blog Post

Expansion of Stormwater Local Assistance Fund (SLAF) eligibility passes Senate committee

February 4, 2021

View Blog Post