Captain Timothy Hill House is the story of an unexpected journey, and proof that you can’t judge a book by its cover. Who would have expected that a rare piece of American architectural history was hiding beneath the dilapidated structure sitting on Main Street on Chincoteague Island, Virginia?
The house was uncovered to find a construction of log planks with full dovetail joints at the corners, historic interior details that aroused curiosity, and sailing ships carved into the exterior of the logs. Investigations uncovered that this construction was a style brought to the New World in the 1600’s by Northern Europeans.
The house was built circa 1800 at a time when Chincoteague Island was transforming itself from pastureland into a community of homes and farms. The Captain Timothy Hill House represents the only known survivor of these early homes and is also only one of two known buildings still standing in Virginia that was built to have a wooden chimney…surprisingly common in the day! After much research and restoration, its historical significance is now here for all to see.
The house was listed on The Virginia Landmarks Register and The National Register of Historic Places in 2011.
But there is still the mystery of who carved those early ships into those logs? Visit this unique house and catch a glimpse of life in a time gone by.