Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

VACo Recognizes Graduates of the Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program

RICHMOND (November 14, 2019)—The Virginia Association of Counties (VACo) recognized the 14th graduating class of the Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program on November 12 during VACo’s 85th Annual Conference in Bath County.

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program provides training to enhance the leadership and decision-making skills of county supervisors in the Commonwealth.

The nine graduates (Group Photo) of the 18-month certification program are:

  • Robert F. Babyok, Jr. | Louisa County | Photo
  • Floyd M. Brown, Jr. | Prince George County | Photo
  • James P. Crozier | Orange County | Photo
  • Amy H. DuBois | Mathews County | Photo
  • Garland H. Hamlett, Jr. | Charlotte County | Photo
  • Kay M. Pierantoni | Charlotte County
  • Cindy C. Shelton | Stafford County | Photo
  • Marlene J. Waymack | Prince George County | Photo
  • Robert S. Westbrook | Lancaster County | Photo

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program was created to provide VACo members with an opportunity to learn how to more effectively lead their communities.

“Congratulations to our newest graduates for completing one of VACo’s premier educational programs,” VACo Executive Director Dean Lynch said. “We now have close to 90 graduates from more than 40 counties since the program’s first class in 2006. I was proud to join the ranks of other graduates in 2016, and I can attest that this is a master’s degree level program. I encourage more supervisors to participate in this unique educational program.”

The Virginia Certified County Supervisors’ Program provides an overview of the issues, expectations, and practices associated with serving as a county supervisor as well as detailed information about local government. The program consists of five core courses that span 55 hours of classroom instruction and hours of home study. The program focuses on leadership development, duties and responsibilities of public officials, community planning, local government finance, and collaborative governance.

For more information about the County Supervisor Certification Program, contact Angela Inglett-Younkins at or 804.343.2504.

Supervisor Certification Past Graduates

Norman G. Dill, Albemarle County; Kenneth Adam Kidd, Bland County; Robert McCraw, Carroll County; Christopher McDonald, Virginia Association of Counties; Thomas H. Sayre, Warren County; Jerry R. Townsend, Prince Edward County

Joel C. Acree, Isle of Wight County; Jessie L. Barksdale, Pittsylvania County; Keith C. Blowe, Sussex County; Claudia Hubbard Lundy, Mecklenburg County; Bill Martin, Greene County; Allison B. Mays, Washington County; William M. McCarty, Sr., Isle of Wight County; Larry Nordvig, Powhatan County; Odessa H. Pride, Ed.D, Prince Edward County; Richard F. Randolph, Albemarle County

Rick Blevins, Smyth County; Meg Bohmke, Stafford County; James M. Griffith, Alleghany County; Dean A. Lynch, Virginia Association of Counties; Laura Sellers, Stafford County; Steve Wilkerson, Bedford County

Pattie Cooper-Jones, Prince Edward County; Jane D. Dittmar, Albemarle County; Stephanie L. Koren, Louisa County; Jack White, Mathews County

Jason Daniel Bellows, Lancaster County; Alexa Fritz, Culpeper County; Roger T. Hayden, Patrick County; H.A. “Andy” McCready, Pulaski County; Charles A. Stacy, Tazewell County

John Cataldo, Brunswick County; Claire Anne Collins, Bath County; William F. “Bill” Gandel, Prince George County; Don C. Gantt, Jr., Prince Edward County; John Haynes, Richmond County; Dana G. Kilgore, Wise County; Phil D. McCraw, Carroll County; Phillip “Bart” Perdue, Bath County; Cassandra L. Stish, Buckingham County; Robert “Bob” Thomas, Jr., Stafford County; Kevin Wagner, Highland County; John R. Woodward, Page County

Joseph C. Straten, Washington County

Larry K. Bartlett, Grayson County; David W. Blanchard, Highland County; Brenda Sutherland, Grayson County

Stephen W. Bowen, Nottoway County; J.D. Cave, Page County; Donald W. Kidd, Amherst County; Dr. Thomas Littrell, Carroll County; Ernie McLeod, Louisa County

Deborah B. Coats, Hanover County; Robert H. Conner, Brunswick County; Willie L. Gentry, Jr., Louisa County; Bernard L. Jones, Sr., Brunswick County; Ann H. Mallek, Albemarle County; Carl Schmitt, Greene County

Sharon Baroncelli, Shenandoah County; Kate Berger, Pittsylvania County; Tony Carter, Warren County; David Hutchins, Carroll County; Paul Milde, Stafford County

John Rust, Page County; William Quarles, Jr., Goochland County; Charles Allbaugh, Fluvanna County

Wayne A. Acors, Caroline County; Charles C. Ballard, Page County; Phillip A. Bradshaw, Isle of Wight County; Gerald M. Cubbage, Page County; Carol Lee Fischer-Strickler, Page County; Thomas W. Fore, Amherst County; R. Kenneth Hatcher, Powhatan County; Judy S. Lyttle, Surry County; Ronnie L. Shortt, Wise County; Thomas J. Wright, III, Isle of Wight County

Share This
Recent Posts