Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

Jeffrey C. McKay Elected VACo President for 2020-2021

RICHMOND (November 12, 2020)— The membership of the Virginia Association of Counties elected Fairfax County Chairman Jeffrey C. McKay as 2020-2021 President during VACo’s 86th Annual Conference, which was held virtually. McKay and other newly elected officers started their terms at VACo’s Annual Business Meeting on November 11.

McKay succeeds Nottoway County Supervisor Stephen W. Bowen, and becomes the 10th  President from Fairfax County since 1935. Penelope A. Gross, who led the association in 2014-15, was the most recent President from Fairfax County.

“I’m honored to be elected by my colleagues to serve as President of VACo,” McKay said. “I look forward to continuing to work with leaders across the Commonwealth in advocating for our localities.”

McKay was born and raised on the historic Route One Corridor in Lee District. He earned a B.S. in Public Administration from James Madison University, and is a graduate of the Sorensen Institute of Political Leadership at the University of Virginia.

McKay served as chief of staff for then-Supervisor Dana Kauffman for more than a decade before winning the election as Lee District Supervisor in November 2007. McKay served his home district for a dozen years and was known for his work on equity, education, affordable housing, transportation, revitalization and the environment.

In 2013, McKay joined the VACo Board of Directors, and since then, he’s been a thoughtful, knowledgeable, and strong advocate for counties and local government. He’s a voice that other supervisors listen to because he understands the dynamics of urban, suburban and rural Virginia.

“Jeff has been a trusted and respected leader in the association since he was first elected to the Board of Directors,” VACo Executive Director Dean Lynch said. “When we discuss tough legislative issues – Jeff consistently has shared a fair and sound perspective, particularly in the areas of transportation, education and the environment. Jeff is a strong leader, and we are lucky and excited to have him as our next President.”

McKay was elected to serve as Fairfax County Chairman in November 2019. He succeeded Sharon Bulova, who retired after serving three terms as chair and more than 30 years on the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors.

McKay has chaired the Fairfax County Board’s Transportation, Revitalization, Budget and Legislative Committees. As Budget and Legislative Chairman, he has fostered relationships with federal and state elected officials, as well as the school board.

He is also a regional leader, twice serving as chairman of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission and currently sitting on the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority. He works with his counterparts on initiatives to better the quality of life for Fairfax County residents, having also served on the Northern Virginia Regional Commission.

McKay lives in Lee District with his wife Crystal, his children Leann and Aidan, who attend Fairfax County Public Schools and of course, their latest retired racing Greyhound, Pascal.

“There is so much we can accomplish when we work together, and I’m excited to get started,” McKay said.

VACo 2020-21 Executive Committee

President: Jeffrey C. McKay | Fairfax County

President-Elect: Meg Bohmke | Stafford County

First Vice President: Jason D. Bellows | Lancaster County

Second Vice President: Ann H. Mallek | Albemarle County

Secretary-Treasurer: Donald L. Hart, Jr. | Accomack County

Immediate Past-President: Stephen W. Bowen | Nottoway County


VACo 2020-21 Board Directors

In addition to the VACo Executive Committee and Past Presidents, the Board of Directors consists of 24 supervisors representing 13 regions of the state, and a NACo Delegate. The terms are on a two-year cycle and the number of directors, per region, is based on the population.

This year, representatives were selected in regions 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12 (Click here for a regional map)

VACo 2020-21 new board members

Region 1: William M. McCarty | Isle of Wight County

Region 3: Frank J. Thornton | Henrico County

Region 5: John M. (Mike) Sheridan | Fluvanna County

Region 6: Terri T. Catlett | Clarke County

Region 7: James P. Crozier | Orange County

Region 8: Margaret Angela Franklin | Prince William County

Region 8: Libby Garvey | Arlington County

Region 8: Penelope A. Gross | Fairfax County

Region 8: Phyllis J. Randall | Loudoun County

Region 8: Daniel G. Storck | Fairfax County

Region 11: Billy W. Martin, Sr. | Botetourt County

Region 12: Adam Kidd | Bland County

Share This
Recent Posts