Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

Ann H. Mallek Elected VACo President for 2023-2024

RICHMOND (November 15, 2023) — Albemarle County Supervisor Ann H. Mallek has been elected President of the Virginia Association of Counties (VACo) for the 2023-2024 term. This announcement was made during VACo’s 89th Annual Conference held in Bath County with new officers beginning their terms at VACo’s Annual Business Meeting on November 14.

Mallek, succeeding Lancaster County Supervisor Jason D. Bellows, becomes the fourth President from Albemarle County since VACo’s establishment in 1934, following in the footsteps of John W. Williams (1960), Edgar N. Garnett (1968), and Gerald E. Fisher (1980).

“I am excited and humbled to be selected as the next VACo President, and I’m honored to represent Albemarle County and the central Virginia region,” Mallek said. “I’ve learned so much from VACo programs and gatherings over the years. I want to ensure we continue our strong programs of education for Virginia’s local leaders about the many topics with which we must all contend. I’m also looking forward to working with state and federal leaders to protect important governing tools such as local authority. I can’t wait to get to work.”

Mallek, who raises beef and vegetables on a family farm in Earlysville, brings valuable experience to her role. She was first elected in 2007 to represent the White Hall District, serving as Board Chair from 2010-2013 and in 2018. Her core beliefs in civility, communication, and a sense of place guide her as a supervisor.

VACo Executive Director Dean Lynch expressed enthusiasm about Mallek’s presidency, saying, “Ann is an experienced educator, public servant, and local leader who believes that local service has a powerful influence on the quality of everyday life for all of us. Her background in farming, agriculture, and environmental protection will serve our association well. We’re excited that Ann is our next President.”

In addition to Mallek’s election, new members of the VACo 2023-2024 Executive Committee and Board Directors have also been named:

VACo 2023-24 Executive Committee

President: Ann H. Mallek | Albemarle County

President-Elect: Ruth Larson | James City County

First Vice President: William M. McCarty, Sr. | Isle of Wight County

Second Vice President: Victor S. Angry | Prince William County

Secretary-Treasurer: Donald L. Hart, Jr. | Accomack County

Immediate Past President: Jason D. Bellows | Lancaster County

VACo 2023-24 Board Directors
In addition to the VACo Executive Committee and Past Presidents, the Board of Directors consists of supervisors representing 13 regions of the state, and a NACo Delegate. The terms are on a two-year cycle and the number of directors, per region, is based on the population.

This year, representatives were selected in regions 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13

VACo 2023-24 new board members

Region 2

Region 3

Region 4

Region 7

Region 8

Region 9

Region 10

Region 11

Region 13

Past President

NACo Delegate

Share This
Recent Posts