Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

16 CTE programs to receive $37,500 each for new equipment and improvements

The Governor issued a press release on March 23 to announce that 16 high schools and technical centers will share $600,000 in grants to upgrade equipment for their career and technical education programs (CTE). Each school will receive $37,500 to purchase new equipment and make other necessary improvements.

The awards, by school division, are as follows:

  • Albemarle County — Monticello Governor’s Health Sciences Academy (diagnostic virtual modelling)
  • Bedford County — Bedford County  Governor’s Health Sciences Academy (biotechnology and forensics) and Staunton River High School (technology education and engineering)
  • Botetourt County — Botetourt Technical Education Center (mechanical, electrical and computer engineering)
  • Cumberland County — Cumberland County High School (architectural design and construction)
  • Dickenson County — Riverview High School (cybersecurity)
  • Fredrick County — Dowell J. Howard Center (nursing, automotive technology, technology education and engineering)
  • Giles County — Giles County Technology Center (precision machine technology)
  • Hampton — Hampton High School (computer science, game design, cybersecurity and modeling/simulation)
  • Henrico County — Hermitage High School (precision machining)
  • Madison County — Madison County High School (simulated workplace environment)
  • Page County — Page County Technical Center (information technology and cybersecurity)
  • Rockbridge County — Rockbridge County High School (renewable energy)
  • Suffolk — Governor’s STEM Academy at the Pruden Center for Industry and Technology (information technology and cybersecurity, computer network software operations and mechatronics)
  • Warren County — Blue Ridge Technical Center (simulated design and advanced manufacturing)
  • Wythe County — Wythe County Technology Center (machinery and welding)

According to the press release, the grant program gives priority to challenged schools, Governor’s STEM Academies and Governor’s Health Science Academies. A second round of awards will be announced in early 2018.

VACo Contacts: Katie Boyle

Share This
Recent Posts