16 CTE programs to receive $37,500 each for new equipment and improvements

March 24, 2017

The Governor issued a press release on March 23 to announce that 16 high schools and technical centers will share $600,000 in grants to upgrade equipment for their career and technical education programs (CTE). Each school will receive $37,500 to purchase new equipment and make other necessary improvements.

The awards, by school division, are as follows:

  • Albemarle County — Monticello Governor’s Health Sciences Academy (diagnostic virtual modelling)
  • Bedford County — Bedford County  Governor’s Health Sciences Academy (biotechnology and forensics) and Staunton River High School (technology education and engineering)
  • Botetourt County — Botetourt Technical Education Center (mechanical, electrical and computer engineering)
  • Cumberland County — Cumberland County High School (architectural design and construction)
  • Dickenson County — Riverview High School (cybersecurity)
  • Fredrick County — Dowell J. Howard Center (nursing, automotive technology, technology education and engineering)
  • Giles County — Giles County Technology Center (precision machine technology)
  • Hampton — Hampton High School (computer science, game design, cybersecurity and modeling/simulation)
  • Henrico County — Hermitage High School (precision machining)
  • Madison County — Madison County High School (simulated workplace environment)
  • Page County — Page County Technical Center (information technology and cybersecurity)
  • Rockbridge County — Rockbridge County High School (renewable energy)
  • Suffolk — Governor’s STEM Academy at the Pruden Center for Industry and Technology (information technology and cybersecurity, computer network software operations and mechatronics)
  • Warren County — Blue Ridge Technical Center (simulated design and advanced manufacturing)
  • Wythe County — Wythe County Technology Center (machinery and welding)

According to the press release, the grant program gives priority to challenged schools, Governor’s STEM Academies and Governor’s Health Science Academies. A second round of awards will be announced in early 2018.

VACo Contacts: Katie Boyle

- Related Blog Posts -

Capitol Contact ALERT – Oppose Bills that Upset Well-Established Real Estate Tax Appeal Processes

February 12, 2018

View Blog Post

Constitutional Amendments of Interest to Localities Introduced

January 17, 2017

View Blog Post

Problematic Public Comment and FOIA Penalty Bills Falter in Subcommittee

February 22, 2018

View Blog Post