Creating New Cities; Dissolving Towns

January 28, 2016


HB 192 (Minchew) provides an exception to the current moratorium on creating new cities to permit any town with a population in excess of 40,000 to apply for a city charter. Currently only the towns of Blacksburg and Leesburg would be eligible.

In other action, HB 14 (Ware) would repeal the charter of the Town of Columbia in Fluvanna County (population 82).

Both bills were reported out of Subcommittee #1 and should be considered by the House Counties, Cities and Towns Committee on Friday, January 29 at 8 am.

VACo Contact: Jim Campbell, CAE

- Related Blog Posts -

House version of Local Stormwater Management Fund passes full chamber

February 5, 2019

View Blog Post

Legislation to assist with jail costs advances

January 15, 2018

View Blog Post

Forbes ranking demonstrates pro-business environment in Virginia

October 1, 2013

View Blog Post