Close this search box.

The Voice of the

Commonwealth's Counties

VACo/VML Pooled OPEB Trust Elects Trustees at FY2021 Annual Meeting

Meghan Coates, Director of Finance for Henrico County, has been elected to the Board of Trustees of the VACo/VML Pooled OPEB Trust by participants. At the same meeting, participants of the Pooled OPEB Trust reelected Jeffrey Weiler, Executive Director of Fairfax County Retirement Systems, and H. Roger Zurn, Jr., Treasurer of Loudon County. Trustees serve three-year terms with the newly elected Trustees serving until the FY2024 annual meeting.

Comprised of local government officials from participants in the VACo/VML Pooled OPEB Trust, the nine-member Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Pooled OPEB Trust. The Pooled OPEB Trust is Virginia’s only OPEB pooled trust and the largest OPEB pooled trust in the US. As of fiscal year-end June 30, 2020, the Pooled OPEB Trust had total investments of $1.318 billion. The Trust’s large scale offers participants well-diversified portfolios at lower costs, while providing access to a nationally recognized investment advisor and top institutional fund managers.

Coates succeeds Ned Smither, former Director of Finance for Henrico County, whose tenure saw the steady growth of Pooled OPEB Trust’s assets.