

Virginia Association of Counties 1207 E. Main Street Suite 300 Richmond, VA 23219 www.vaco.org 804.788.6652 #VACoCapitolContact

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

## Capitol Contact ALERT – Oppose Bill that Changes Local Grievance Procedure

HB 1471 (Hugo) seeks to make several changes to the local grievance procedures that apply to all localities and local government employees throughout the Commonwealth. HB 1471 is a refiling of similar bills defeated during the 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016 legislative sessions.

The bill, which also has some provisions regarding local school board grievances, has been assigned to <a href="House Counties">House Counties</a>, Cities and Towns
<a href="Committee">Committee</a>'s Subcommittee #2 and could be heard tomorrow at 4 pm in Room E400-B of the Pocahontas Building.

**Action Required –** Contact your Delegates on the <u>Subcommittee #2</u> now to oppose HB 1471.

## **TALKING POINTS**

• The changes make the grievance process more cumbersome, lengthy, and subject to inconsistent outcomes. Currently, many localities use a hearing officer or existing approved grievance boards or panels. This bill would revert to a three-member panel at the choice of the grievant. These panels are cumbersome to assemble and often have no experience in conducting such procedures, resulting in delay and inconsistency.

- HB 1471 eliminates many longstanding impartial grievance panels used by localities that currently work well.
- The bill would shift interpretation of local government policy from the Chief Administrative Officer of the locality to the Commonwealth's Attorney, who may have no knowledge or experience in employment policy.

The main proponent of this bill in the past has been the Police Benevolent Society, and it is important to note that law enforcement employees have the option to choose either the local grievance process or the grievance process provided under the Law Enforcement Officers Procedural Guarantee Act, thus making the change to the local grievance procedure unnecessary.

## **KEY CONTACTS**

House Counties, Cities and Towns Committee's Subcommittee #2: Stolle (Chairman), Marshall, Wilt, Hodges, Webert, Mullin, Hayes, Roem, Ingram

VACo Contact: Phyllis Errico, Esq., CAE