PRESS RELEASE



Mary W. Biggs Elected VACo President for 2016-2017



RICHMOND (November 16, 2016)—The membership of the Virginia Association of Counties elected Montgomery County Supervisor Mary W. Biggs as 2016-2017 President during VACo's 82nd Annual Conference in Bath County. Biggs and other newly elected officers started their terms at the association's Annual Business Meeting on November 15.

Biggs succeeds Surry County Supervisor Judy S. Lyttle. Biggs becomes the first President from Montgomery County and the first from VACo's Region 10 since 1988.

"I am excited for this honor of leading our association," Biggs said. "VACo has changed over the past year, and with those changes come opportunities for us to improve and excel as an organization. I hope to make a difference in my year as President and do my part to advance VACo's growth."

Biggs is a veteran member of VACo. She first served on a committee in 1998 and has represented Region 10 on the Board of Directors for five years. Governor Terry McAuliffe appointed Biggs to serve on the State Executive Council for Children's Services and the Local Government Policy Council.

"VACo is in a good place legislatively and administratively," Biggs said. "Our leadership and membership are strong. More county officials are participating in our programs and process. But what really encourages me is the collaboration and cooperation among counties to make our communities a better place. VACo is the bridge that connects counties."

Biggs was first elected to the Montgomery Board of Supervisors in 1996. She served as Chair in 2000, 2001 and 2002. She was Vice Chair five times.

"Mary has been a leader for a long time," VACo Executive Director Dean Lynch said. "Her practical experience and knowledge in education and family issues will continue to serve the association well. I look forward to a great year with Mary at the helm."

Biggs retired after 42 years as a teacher, including 37 years at Harding Elementary School. She earned bachelor's and master's degrees from Virginia Tech University in Management, Housing and Family Development.

VACo 2016-17 Executive Committee

President: <u>Mary W. Biggs</u> | Montgomery County President-Elect: <u>William A. Robertson, Jr.</u> | Prince George County First Vice President: <u>Sherrin C. Alsop</u> | King and Queen County Second Vice President: <u>Robert Thomas, Jr.</u> | Stafford County Secretary-Treasurer: <u>Donald L. Hart, Jr.</u> | Accomack County Immediate Past-President: <u>Judy S. Lyttle</u> | Surry County

VACo 2016-17 Board Directors

In addition to the VACo Executive Committee and Past Presidents, the Board of Directors consists of 24 supervisors representing 13 regions of the state. The terms are on a two-year cycle and the number of directors, per region, is based on the population.

This year, representatives were selected in regions 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12 (<u>Click here for a regional map</u>)

VACo 2016-17 new board members include:

Region 1: John M. Seward | Surry CountyRegion 3: Frank J. Thornton | Henrico CountyRegion 5: Ann H. Mallek | Albemarle CountyRegion 6: Barbara J. Byrd | Clarke CountyRegion 7: Meg Bohmke | Stafford CountyRegion 7: Stephanie L. Koren | Louisa CountyRegion 8: Phyllis J. Randall | Loudoun CountyRegion 8: Daniel G. Storck | Fairfax CountyRegion 8: John Vihstadt | Arlington CountyRegion 8: OPENRegion 10: Sara E. Carter | Appomattox CountyRegion 11: Bill Thomasson | Bedford CountyRegion 12: Tim A. Reeves | Wythe CountyPast Presidents: Penelope A. Gross | Fairfax County; Harrison A. Moody | DinwiddieCounty; Catherine M. Hudgins | Fairfax County

VACo exists to support county officials and to effectively represent, promote and protect the interests of counties to better serve the people of Virginia.

###

For more information Gage Harter 804.343.2502 gharter@vaco.org Virginia Association of Counties 1207 East Main Street Richmond, Va. 23219 www.vaco.org