# **PRESS RELEASE**



## **VACo Names Penny Gross President for 2014-2015**



**RICHMOND** (November 12, 2014)—The membership of the Virginia Association of Counties elected Fairfax County Supervisor Penelope A. "Penny" Gross as 2014-2015 President during VACo's 80<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference in Bath County. Gross and other newly elected officers started their terms at the association's Annual Business Meeting on November 11.

Gross succeeds Dinwiddie County Supervisor Harrison A. Moody.

Gross becomes the ninth president from Fairfax County and the second in four years. Fairfax County Supervisor Catherine M. Hudgins was VACo President in 2011-2012.

"I'm excited for the challenge of being VACo President, and I'm humbled by this opportunity," Gross said. "VACo is coming off a successful year of implementing the strategic plan, and I want to continue the progress. I'm also thrilled to lead an organization that promotes the well-being of all counties, and I hope to make a difference in my year as President."

Gross was first elected to the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors in 1995 and was re-elected to her fifth term on November 8, 2011. She currently serves as Vice Chairman of the Board.

"Penny has been a leader in VACo for a long time," VACo Executive Director James D. Campbell said. "Penny is a tireless worker and has a knack for solving problems with fresh and innovative ideas as well as taking practical approaches to issues. VACo is going to grow stronger under Penny Gross. We are fortunate to have her as our President."

On the state and national level, Gross currently is vice-chair of the National Association of Counties' Energy, Environment, and Land Use Committee. She completed a one-year term as President of the National Association of Regional Councils Board of Directors in June 2014. Gross was appointed by Governor Mark Warner to the Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC) to the Chesapeake Executive Council, which she chaired from March 2006 until August 2008, and continues to serve.

Prior to her tenure as Supervisor, Gross worked for 20 years as staff in various congressional offices. She served on the Board of the Lincolnia Park Civic Association (1985 to 1997), and on the Executive Board of the Mason District Council of Civic Associations (1988 to 1995). She has held numerous offices with PTA, and is an Honorary Life Member of the Virginia State PTA.

Gross was elected to the VACo Board of Directors in 1996 as the Region 8 representative.

"People often ask me where I get my energy," Gross said. "I simply love my job. I love to work, and I get energy from the people I serve. Being out in the community and getting to know the people of Virginia as friends and having them consider me as a friend keeps me going."

Gross was born in Eugene, Oregon, and earned her degree from the University of Oregon. She and her husband Hal have been married for 44 years and have three children.

### **VACo 2014-15 Executive Committee**

**President:** Penelope A. Gross, Fairfax County **President-Elect:** David V. Hutchins, Carroll County **First Vice President:** Judy S. Lyttle, Surry County

**Second Vice President:** Mary W. Biggs, Montgomery County **Secretary-Treasurer:** Donald L. Hart, Jr., Accomack County

Immediate Past-President: Harrison A. Moody, Dinwiddie County

### **VACo 2014-15 Board Directors**

In addition to the VACo Executive Committee and Past Presidents, the <u>Board of Directors</u> consists of 24 supervisors representing 13 regions of the state. The terms are on a two-year cycle and the number of directors, per region, is based on the population.

This year, representatives were selected in regions 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12. (Click here for a regional map)

#### VACo 2014-15 new board members include:

**Region 1:** William A. Robertson, Prince George County

Region 3: Patricia S. O'Bannon, Henrico County

**Region 5:** Cassandra L. Stish, Buckingham County

**Region 6:** J. Michael Hobert, Clarke County

**Region 7:** Robert M. Thomas, Jr., Stafford County

**Region 8:** Sharon S. Bulova, Fairfax County

Region 8: Gerry W. Hyland, Fairfax County

Region 8: J. Walter Tejada, Arlington County

**Region 8:** Scott K. York, Loudoun County

**Region 10:** Gary W. Tanner, Appomattox County

**Region 11:** Charlotte A. Moore, Roanoke County

**Region 12:** Timothy A. Reeves, Wythe County

Past Presidents: John D. Miller, Middlesex County; Catherine M. Hudgins, Fairfax County;

Robert R. Adkins, Wise County

VACo exists to support county officials and to effectively represent, promote and protect the interests of counties to better serve the people of Virginia.

###

For more information Gage Harter 804-343-2502 gharter@vaco.org Virginia Association of Counties 1207 East Main Street Richmond, Va. 23219 www.vaco.org